Skip to content

SB Project: Sketches 15 and 16

November 27, 2010

Here are a couple more pages for the Sketchbook Project.

Giant tube worms form colonies around hydrothermal vents in the deep ocean. The worms have a symbiotic relationship with chemosynthetic bacteria that live inside their bodies. In exchange for the hydrogen sulfide and other chemicals that the worms absorb, the bacteria produce organic compounds that sustain the worms. Giant tube worms don’t even have digestive tracts!

Sundews are carnivorous plants. They produce a sticky mucous that attracts and traps insects, at which point sundews secrete digestive enzymes to break down the prey and absorb nutrients.

+++

I thought I’d post the life drawing sketches I did while at Illuxcon. On Sunday there was an Art Jam with a couple live models, music, and props. I drew the girls for a bit, then switched to the guy sitting in front of me when I got bored.

I deliberately elongated her proportions and changed her clothing.

Love this model’s nose. She has such a pretty face. 🙂

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2010 22:28

    The second girl looks like a friend of mine from College.
    For the Sketchbook ones, how big did you say these were?

    • November 29, 2010 00:01

      Did she also have an awesome nose? 🙂

      Let’s see, they are… 5″x8″. So about 13x20cm.

      • November 29, 2010 00:27

        haha, She does indeed!
        I’d be interested to see you ink and slather color onto more of your sketchbook stuff. Do you have any watercolors? I’ve got a couple pretty handy travel sets that I use all the time.

    • November 29, 2010 03:17

      I don’t have any watercolors. I’ve never used them before; they seem so intimidating! I’m not sure if the paper in the moleskine could handle the water, now that I think about it. It’s pretty thin…

      • November 29, 2010 03:27

        That’s what sketchbooks are for, silly! Experiment! Who cares if the pages wrinkle from the wetness, just give ‘er! I bought a little tiny sketchbook with linen paper that’s way too thin, but I don’t care. Just don’t use too much water. We can chat about it if you want pointers or anything though.

      • morgan haude permalink
        November 29, 2010 21:54

        hey chels,
        i’ve used watercolors in moleskine before, and it doesn’t take very well, it tends to bead up, but sometimes the effect is nice. the pages don’t get too warped, though. (moleskine makes water color sketchbook too). i usually build up a few layers. also, i prefer gouache, which is a little more forgiving, i find watercolors pretty intimidating, too, probably because of grandpa and my mom!

    • November 29, 2010 04:25

      Well yes, that’s true. But this one seems more high pressure, since it gets submitted to the SB Project traveling gallery thing. 😐 It might be okay if i don’t use much water, though, like you said. I would love some pointers! Might you be free some time this week to chat? 🙂

    • November 29, 2010 15:01

      Will you be online this evening around… 5 Mountain Time? I think that’s your time zone, right?

  2. November 29, 2010 05:29

    I really like the life drawing sketches, especially the one with the guy. It’s such a difficult angle to draw a face and I love that I can see the eyelashes. So very beautiful!

  3. November 29, 2010 15:28

    About an hour or two after that, I will be! I have to make a stop before I go home from work.

Leave a Reply

