Skip to content

Illuxcon Thoughts

November 22, 2010

On November 10 I met up with Joe Slucher near Cincinnati, and we car-pooled to Altoona, PA for Illuxcon, 2010! I survived a nasty bit of car-sickness and we arrived at the hotel that evening. The con itself started on November 11 and ran until the afternoon of November 14. The whole experience was, to put it mildly, incredible. I got to see so much beautiful art in person, and got to meet so many fantastic people.

In early 2008 I attended Revelations, a Massive Black/ConceptArt.org workshop, but at the time I had only just gotten into full-time freelancing. Illuxcon was the first opportunity I’ve had to meet my fellow illustrators face-to-face since I’ve been in the business, and I was amazed and delighted by how kind and approachable everyone was. Over the four days of the convention, I had so many enjoyable conversations with artists of all different levels, from masters to students (then again, we’re all students). The small size of Illuxcon certainly helped to foster the sense of friendship between all of the attendees, but I think the individuals involved contributed to the awesome all on their own. šŸ™‚

Networking aside, I received much-needed critiques. Jon Schindehette, Mark Nelson, and Lars Grant-West, as well as many others, gave me some really helpful suggestions and asked pointed questions that I think will help me to improve.

Numerous other Illuxcon attendees have blogged about the con, so rather than repeat what they’ve said, I’ll link to their posts.

Chris Burdett – lots of photos, and very detailed!
Joe Slucher
Mike Sass
Sam Wolfe Connelly
Jeremy McHugh

I will definitely be attending next year! And now, some mobile photos…

Painting by Paul Lehr

Detail of above painting

Michael C. Hayes setting up

Part of the main show room

Donato Giancola's work

Greg Hildebrandt's WIP of Smaug

Bob Eggleton doing a live oil demo

Ralph Horsley's table

Tomorrow I’ll post some more Sketchbook Project sketches and a finished commission.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2010 01:38

    I have to be honest, I’m not sure if I even knew there was an illustration con for people like us. I wouldn’t mind going to this some time. Looks like it was a lot of fun, and a great chance to meet some new artsies.

    • November 23, 2010 04:08

      It focuses primarily on fantasy/sci-fi illustration, but it’s definitely worth looking into. šŸ™‚

  2. November 29, 2010 02:30

    Ah! I’ve been searching for someone who could tell me who’s fabulous art that was that was against the wall at Illuxcon! Now I know. Paul Lehr! I was so impressed with those paintings, I must’ve oogled at them more than anyone else’s work there.

    • November 29, 2010 03:46

      Yeah, they were really amazing. He used such crazy colors, but they worked so well.

Leave a Reply

