Skip to content

Moonbeast

October 9, 2010

I managed to get my entry for the ArtOrder Lovecraft Creature Lab Challenge done before the deadline!

I had decided to draw one of the moonbeasts from The Dream Quest of Uknown Kadath, but I just couldn’t work out the thing’s anatomy. Lovecraft alternately describes them as toad-like, jellyfish-like, and semi-amorphous; but also seems to indicate that they are primarily bipedal. I just couldn’t picture a toad walking on its hind legs – they’re just not constructed to move that way. Finally, two nights ago, I realized that I could probably retain the toad- and jellyfish-like traits I’d been envisioning if I changed the location of the pelvis and made it a bit wider. After that, the design fell into place pretty easily.

The moonbeasts have no eyes, so I gave them tympanic membranes like those of frogs and toads. It’s also stated in the text that they can’t swim, so I did away with the webbing between their fingers and toes. And what Lovecraftian horror is complete without nasty pustules??

In one part of the story, some of the moonbeasts take up flutes and begin to play them. Unfortunately, I didn’t remember until just a little while ago that the flutes are carved ivory. Oops! Well, I rather like the bone flute, anyway.

I’d like to say a special thank you to my greyhound, Storm, who is always invaluable when I need to draw anatomy of any kind. šŸ™‚ No artist should be without a greyhound!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Donna permalink
    October 9, 2010 20:11

    That’s great Chels. So uch detail & sooo scary to me šŸ˜‰

Trackbacks

  1. SB Project: Sketches 04 and 05 « Paper Nautilus

Leave a Reply

