Skip to content

Some Inspiration

October 1, 2010

I’ve been feeling very creatively/artistically stagnant lately, so I thought I would try to spark my own imagination, and share some of the things that inspire me.


Universcale is a really unique Flash thingie that allows us to get a little closer to comprehending the scale of things in our universe – from nebulae to the London Eye to amino acids. Definitely worth taking a look.


I came across this gorgeous piece by Sam Araya the other day, and it’s been floating around in my head since then. It’s sort of ominous and whimsical and the same time, which is one of my favorite combinations.


Out of Sight is a perfectly charming and wonderful animation. It has a very Miyazaki vibe to it, and makes me want to paint on walls (but in a not crazy way) and find fields of flowers in which to frolic.


I love the sound of Freelance Whales, but what really gets me are their surreal, engaging lyrics. I read somewhere that at least some of the songs were inspired by dream journals that the band members kept, and I can definitely believe it. The imagery in the songs is very vivid! You can download a free mp3 of their song Generator ^ Second Floor on their website, and here’s the new video for their song Hannah:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Donna permalink
    October 1, 2010 03:21

    Maybe we should put some of our dreams to music šŸ˜‰ Or maybe not! Too weird!

  2. October 1, 2010 23:25

    Nice shared, thanks

Leave a Reply

