Skip to content

Sketchbook Project

September 29, 2010

I’m participating in the Sketchbook Project: 2011 this year! I tried doing it last year but couldn’t manage it for two reasons. One, the sketchbooks got sent out really late; I don’t think I got mine until some time in November, and the deadline is January 15. Two, last year they assigned random topics, and I just couldn’t get into mine. This year, however, particpants are allowed to select their own topic from a list, and I found one that really grabbed my attention (er, no pun intended):

Adhere to me

About a day after I signed up, I realized why that topic had intrigued me so. The Decemberists, who are probably my favorite band, have a song called Red Right Ankle (the video in the link is not an official video), and the first verse goes,

This is the story of your red right ankle
And how it came to meet your leg
And how the muscle, bone, and sinews tangled
And how the skin was softly shed
And how it whispered, “Oh, adhere to me
For we are bound by symmetry
And whatever differences our lives have been
We together make a limb”
This is the story of your red right ankle

Lyrics from The Decemberists’ songs never fail to inspire me, so I’m not surprised that this one crept its way into my subconscious.

I’m working on the theme from a number of different angles, the most exciting of which is parasitic organisms! Creepy things + Science = Awesome! Here are the first three sketches.

I highly recommend you Google anglerfish reproduction

I’ve always loved diagrams like this one of a barnacle. The bottom one is sort of a loose interpretation of a whale barnacle, family Coronulidae.

Should you ever wish to implicate me in a crime:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. morgan haude permalink
    September 29, 2010 21:03

    love it chels! (and i love the decemberists too!)
    i went through a barnacle phase in college, i was making them out of clay and attaching them to everything.
    can’t wait to see more.

    • September 29, 2010 22:48

      Yeah, I remember your barnacle sculptures! They looked like they were a lot of work, but they came out so well. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. SB Project: Sketch 40 « Paper Nautilus

Leave a Reply

