Skip to content

Work, Lovecraft… and Sherlock!

September 17, 2010

Things have been pretty busy lately! I was away at the end of August, and have been slammed with work since returning home. Here are some of the things I’ve been working on lately…

I made three seasonal banners for SitSam:

The thing I most enjoyed with these banners was making the little controllers, DS, and PSP. I made a small square “pixel brush” in Photoshop (though I usually kept it at 7×7 pixels), and used it to draw everything but the text and the logo. Also, you can probably see that Sam is holding a Wiimote in his mouth. I made the banner in such a way that Sam can hold any of the controllers or hand-helds in his mouth, depending on the needs of the fantastic people at SitSam.

Here are just a few of the things I’ve been working on for Feytouched Studios:


—

I’m really excited about Jon Schindehette’s new challenge on ArtOrder: Lovecraft Creature Lab! I adore the imagery and creepy atmosphere of the Cthulhu Mythos, so there’s no way I can resist this one! I lived in Rhode Island, the home of H.P. Lovecraft, for four years when I attended URI, and I remember seeing some of the buildings in Providence that he described in his stories. 🙂

—

This isn’t really related to art (except in that art is awesome and Sherlock is also awesome!), but… Has anyone else seen the new Sherlock TV series on BBC One? It is absolutely incredible! I haven’t been this charmed and enthralled by a movie or TV show in ages. There are three 90-minute episodes, and while the second one is not nearly as brilliant at the other two, I can’t recommend the series more! Benedict Cumberbatch (is that not the most British name in the world?) and Martin Freeman were apparently made for their roles as Sherlock Holmes and John Watson, respectively. Mark Gatiss and Steven Moffat really have a gem here.

For those of you in the US who have cable, the first episode of Sherlock will be airing on the PBS cable channel on October 24. There. Now you have no excuse not to watch it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Donna permalink
    September 17, 2010 02:39

    Ooh!! Love the ring. With the hands holding the heart. And yes, I love Sherlock too. Can’t wait to see it again.

    • September 17, 2010 02:52

      The ring was fun. 🙂

      As you should! Everyone should love it! I watched the first episode again last night. That makes four times. >_> Will probably watch the other two again this weekend, hehe.

  2. Heather permalink
    September 18, 2010 04:28

    <..>

    ❤ sherlock ❤

    • Heather permalink
      September 18, 2010 04:29

      Wow, that formatted odd. Way to make me look like a crazy person, WordPress.

Leave a Reply

