Skip to content

ILRA, Sketches, and Fashion

August 16, 2010

As you might know, I’ve been running the Shelter Sketches weekly feature on I Love Rescue Animals for several months now, and I’m so proud to be part of such a great, informative blog.  I’m excited to announce that ILRA has been nominated for the 2010 Petties – DogTime’s Pet Blog Wards! If you have a few minutes, please follow that last link and vote for the best pet blogs of the year. 🙂

Also be sure to check out this past weekend’s Shelter Sketch of Michael the Cane Corso Mastiff. He’s super cute and floppy, and very much in need of a home. ♥

In between commission work, I’ve still been plugging away at Artslam, and I’m almost finished with all 92 days! Here are a few of my recent concept sketches for the project:

++++++++++++

Last is some fan art of Conrad, from the webcomic Hanna is Not a Boy’s Name. I’ve never been very interested in fashion before, but I came across a blog called The Sartorialist the other day, and promptly spent several hours ogling all the snazzy clothing. This oufit, in particular, caught my eye. I need to work on drawing heavier fabrics and different cuts of clothing, so I thought I would try to do a little series of these ‘fashion shoot’ images, featuring the HiNaBN characters.

I used this pose and textures from Bittbox, CGTextures, LostAndTaken, Meltys, Princess-of-Shadows, and Wojtar-Stock. The blue tartan pattern on his shirt is from TartanMaker.com, but I am insane and made the coat pattern from scratch.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    August 16, 2010 21:22

    “…so I thought I would try to do a little series of these ‘fashion shoot’ images, featuring the HiNaBN characters…”

    ಠ_ಠ This. Yes. Homigod yes. Your drawings always make me excited and enthusiastic and jealous and inspired to try my hand at what horrible things I could create with scribbles. ❤ I absolutely adore your skills (though you probably already figured that out ;P ) and I've really been digging seeing all of the awesome things you've made in the ArtSlam Madness. Maybe when my new tablet gets here I'll go copy-cat and attempt to complete a round of easy.

    …Or maybe I'll just work on finishing that HiNaBN meme.

    • August 16, 2010 22:09

      Aw, baw, thank you. ;A; Artslam has been such a blast this year (well it was last year, too)! I mean, it’s kind of exhausting sometimes, but so worth is to make yourself draw something from a particular concept every day. Artslam ends at the end of August, but you should totally join next summer. 🙂

      I can’t wait to see the finished meme from you!!

      • Heather permalink
        August 19, 2010 23:20

        I think I’m totally going to have to do ArtSlam next summer. I’ve been looking up other sketch prompts and everything I’ve found so far is boring boring.

Leave a Reply

