Skip to content

Artslam 2010: Week 01

June 7, 2010

Geez, it’s been forever since I last posted! Life has been pretty crazy, and the amount of work I’ve had necessitated me dropping out of the 12 Week Challenge. Which was a bummer, but I’m not really complaining, since I have several professional jobs going right now! I do plan to continue following the challenge, though, and slowly implement the rest of the great advice therein. šŸ™‚

Now, on to Artslam. I participated in the first one last summer, and it was so incredibly helpful that I had to do it again. It’s also a much smaller time commitment than the 12 Week Challenge (admittedly, the focus is different), so more doable for me right now. It’s geared toward world/story/character building, though when I did Artslam last year, I simply chose the theme “people in motion” and drew lots and lots of studies. I’ve really been wanting to work on my non-existent story-telling skills, though, so this year I’m challenging myself and actually trying to come up with fleshed-out characters, a world for them to inhabit, and something resembling a plot. I think the latter will be the most difficult for me…

Anyway, I won’t bother posting all of the nuts and bolts information here, but I will try to update once a week with my sketches and concepts. If you want to know more details, or follow my progress day-to-day, you can go here. Newer posts are at the top.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2010 00:42

    Awesome study!
    Something so simple yet being able to draw the head leaning upwards and to the side has constantly eluded me. This breaks it down so simply. I might have to try this. šŸ™‚

    • June 8, 2010 02:07

      Oh, thanks. šŸ™‚ I hope it’s helpful somehow. Just doing these studies really helped me understand facial structure better.

Leave a Reply

