Skip to content

Dragonling WIP1

May 13, 2010

I posted the finished goblin image to my gallery. Been working on this baby dragon illo for the 12 Week Challenge. The musculature is really exaggerated right now, since I’m trying to get it all worked out properly. Anyway, I could really use some crits! (EDIT: I thought I should point out that I was very much inspired by awesome photos of cormorants eating fish, like this one!)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2010 04:31

    Hi. Saw yr crit request on Twitter and stopped by. Your illo looks great. I love the splashes and details. You’ve obviously researched this and I may be wrong, but at first glance, I feel the base of the dragon’s neck (the part touching the water) could protrude outwards a little more to show the exaggerated throat adjustment it would need to swallow such a big fish. I’m talking about the bucking movement. The alignment of its head is perfect, and so is its expression. I may be wrong, so just ignore me if you think I’m wrong. All in all, your artwork is stunning. Good luck with the challenge! 🙂

    • May 13, 2010 04:47

      Thank you so much for taking the time to give feedback! 🙂

      I think you’re right. I mean, he is a skinny baby dragon, but he would probably have somewhat more developed chest and muscles. I’ll fix that when I work on it next. Thanks again!

  2. May 13, 2010 11:40

    Hi Chelsea,

    I saw your request on Twitter too. It’s hard to crit though when you draw so well!

    The only tiny little thing I could see was that maybe the wing joint on the rear wing (right behind the neck) should be moved forward or back just a bit. It currently looks like it’s touching the webbing of the wing in front.

    Great job!

    • May 13, 2010 14:37

      Oh, good catch! That does look awkward – have to avoid those tangents! Thank you so much! 😀

  3. Richard Jiang permalink
    May 13, 2010 18:20

    Nice work, Chelsea, as usual! Came here through your FB profile.

    I love the sense of enjoyment the hatchling is getting from the fish. The only thing I might suggest is perhaps for the tail to taper a bit thinner into a dragon-like fluke as well as some beginnings of scale/horn like the neck. But maybe you had wanted to give it bit of puppy-like feel instead. 🙂

    Best Regards,

    -Richard

    • May 13, 2010 20:29

      Thanks for the suggestions Richard! I appreciate you taking the time to check this out. 🙂

  4. May 13, 2010 20:38

    Heyas! Just saw your tweet and wanted to offer my 2 cents 🙂

    I’m not reading this guy as a “baby” too much. I know reptiles are really hard to babify, because they generally look exactly the same as their adult counterparts. The only thing I’d suggest is to maybe add an adult or some sort of sense of scale to the image to indicate he’s really a baby dragon 🙂

    One note about the wing in the foreground- it looks as though it’s trying to be on two planes at the same time, up and over toward the viewer. Maybe adding some foreshortening could help, here’s an example I found of what I mean: http://ahkahna.deviantart.com/art/Murdoc-Casidhe-76468823

    I think the anatomy, creature design and detailing so far look fantastic! Can’t wait to see an update 😀

Leave a Reply

