Skip to content

Discovering a Muse WIP03

April 2, 2010

This is a WIP for Jon Schindehette’s ArtOrder Discovering a Muse Challenge. He and Veronika Kotlajic put together this project to benefit Discovery Arts, a charity that works to bring the fun and creativity of art to children with cancer. The photo reference I’m using for this illustration was taken by Scott Caywood.

Our internet was out for most of the day, or I would have posted this earlier. I had time to do some inking, so here’s what I’ve got so far.

And for those of you following my medical woes via Twitter or deviantArt, I was able to go to a free clinic today, and was prescribed some serious steroids and antihistamines for the allergic reaction I’ve been having! Hopefully it will start to clear up soon. 😀

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2010 03:16

    Ack! I hope you can find the cause of the allergies before it happens again?

    As for the art, this is looking fab! How did you get your lines so smooth? Is that inked digitally? Man I totally need to get started on my entry <_<

    • April 2, 2010 03:33

      Oh man, me too. D:

      It’s just a really, really huge file, hehe. This is less than 25% of the full-size, so the lines are bound to look clean. 😉 Thank you!

  2. April 2, 2010 05:22

    EEE I LOVE THIS. the ruffles! the sticky-out-thing on the telescope! her hair! your insane artistic ability!

  3. April 2, 2010 06:00

    Very nice drawing, I’m looking for the finalized work!

    I know nothing about your allergic miseries but I hope you will be fine!

  4. April 2, 2010 06:04

    Okay, I wanted to say: I’m looking forward to see the finalized work 😀

  5. Wolkenfels permalink
    April 2, 2010 08:35

    Hope your health get better soon!

    Great progress on this picture! I wasn’t aware that is possible to make a telescope even more “steampunked” than it is already. And the ruffles… and this gloves…
    EXCITING!

  6. Donna permalink
    April 6, 2010 13:10

    Can’t wait to see the finished product. You know I love all the detail. Lots of work though.

    • April 6, 2010 13:15

      Haha, yeah, but I like painting under lines like this, so I think it will be fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

