Skip to content

Discovering a Muse WIP02

March 31, 2010

This is a WIP for Jon Schindehette’s ArtOrder Discovering a Muse Challenge. He and Veronika Kotlajic put together this project to benefit Discovery Arts, a charity that works to bring the fun and creativity of art to children with cancer. The photo reference I’m using for this illustration was taken by Scott Caywood.

I got good feedback, so I changed some details, reworked the composition a bit (that arm was bothering me), and fixed some proportions. I don’t know if I’ve added enough details to make the steampunk aspect of it come across. Then again, I don’t want that to overwhelm the pirate-ness of it.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 18:57

    Nice work! I like the dynamic angle and perspective used. Nice line work on the face too!

  2. Wolkenfels permalink
    March 31, 2010 20:03

    Great idea to add the telescope (or whatever the english name is).
    What i really like on this picture is, that it is a picture with the muse and not the muse in a picture. Hope you get what i mean.
    Cheers Wolkenfels

    • March 31, 2010 21:04

      Yeah, telescope is fine. Small, hand-held telescopes are also called spyglasses (which I think sounds more cool! 😉 ).

      Thanks sir!

  3. March 31, 2010 20:05

    Diggin where it’s going!

    Jon

  4. March 31, 2010 21:15

    LOOKS FAB!

    Go you missy!

    Your unwell and still churning out awesome 😀

    • March 31, 2010 21:28

      Aw, you’re too sweet. ^^

      I’m so sick of being sick, I couldn’t sit around being a lump any longer! T^T

  5. March 31, 2010 21:47

    The goggles are a stroke of genius, by thunder! Arrrr…

  6. Donna permalink
    April 1, 2010 02:02

    I love the detail!

  7. April 1, 2010 18:21

    Oooh! I love love this one! I think I sound a bit like a stalker now…

    Either way! I really like the angle you used and spyglasses does sound cooler haha! Can’t wait to see the final version ^_^

    Ciao!

Leave a Reply

