Skip to content

Discovering a Muse WIP01

March 27, 2010

I’ve decided to take a whack at Jon Schindehette’s ArtOrder Discovering a Muse Challenge. You can read more about it here. Jon  and Veronika Kotlajic put together this project to benefit Discovery Arts, a charity that works to bring the fun and creativity of art to children with cancer. The photo reference I’m using for this illustration was taken by Scott Caywood.

This image of sort of a steampunk pirate captain popped into my head when I was looking through the reference images provided…

Crits appreciated!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    March 27, 2010 02:27

    !! Cacodaemonia this looks fantastic!!! I can’t wait to see how it comes along in Paint.

    Can I make a few Steampunk suggestions? All nitpicks don’t even sweat it, I have just done a lot of costume study to make my daughter a costume for DragonCon 🙂

    All I would really say is, add more “industrial” ness to the gadgets you already have — the only thing vaguely steampunk is her goggles, and even those are very delicate. The more chunky and brassy, industrial and victorian you can make it, the more it’ll scream steampunk. Add some lace to her cuffs? Monocle paraphernalia/Telescope?

    however, if you’re going for more gentle delving, my apologies — this sketch is great and nothing is wrong with it at all!

    Steampunk is future/current technology that spawned from a steam-engine based power source – no electricity. So making her a little more futuristic and/or current would really nail that bit down.

    Sorry if I overstepped bounds by saying so much T_T

    • March 27, 2010 02:32

      Oh, thank you for the input! I’ve only recently started researching steampunk fashion, so I need all the help I can get. 😉 I’m trying to blend “pirate fashion” (of course they didn’t really dress this way!) with steampunk, and I think I was a little too hesitant with the latter. Hm, a telescope – that’s a great idea! And I’ll have to play with more lace and thingamajigs!

      Thanks again!

  2. Wolkenfels permalink
    March 27, 2010 11:55

    Wow – great one.
    It really wouldn’t make any sense for me to join but i am very curious about the ref-images. 🙂

    I like this first version. You got her face very well and the pose is great for the theme i think.
    It looks like you put really some thought into that – like the hair style that suits beeing on a ship very well – instead of long open hair that would be in your face all the time. 😉
    Only critique is that i think her hands are too small.

  3. March 30, 2010 20:58

    Hey there Chelsea! Lovely start, can’t wait to see where this goes! For crits, I agree with the comment (here) about the hands, but I think it’s the hands and the arms as well. I noticed someone (on ArtOrder) mentioned the head feeling large. I think it could handle being a tad smaller, but the real problem, I think, is the arms and hands. The head by comparison seems quite large.

    Keep going, it’s looking great! Especially the face, which is so delicately rendered. I think I’m using the same ref as you even (is it the one from the feathered coat set?).

    • March 30, 2010 22:22

      The arms do see a bit skinny, don’t they? I was actually messing with this just now, so I’ll see what I can do about that. Thanks!

      And yeah, it’s the one with the crazy feather coat thing. 😀

Leave a Reply

