Skip to content

Someone put Sean Connery in my Gregory Peck

December 18, 2009

EDIT: I’m full of mistakes lately. Serves me right, trusting the Internet for names. The ref photo I used was actually of Cary Grant. :/

I did this portrait study of Gregory Peck this morning, and no matter how much I tweaked it, I couldn’t get it to stop looking like Sean Connery. I finally enlarged the photo ref and placed it over the painting to see what was wrong. Mostly, it looks like I made his chin too pronounced, and the eyes/eyebrows are just slightly off, angle-wise. I don’t want to mess around with it anymore, but hopefully I learned from it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 21:27

    Excellent work!

    These look great they definitely capture a mood and feel cinematic.
    I love seeing diversity in peoples work it’s rare. You also have a very strong skillset in drawing and painting. I look forward to seeing what else you post in the future!

    Cheers and all the best!

    • February 11, 2010 21:36

      Well, thank you very much. I like to try my hand at a lot of different styles, though I feel like I should really master one. ^_^;

  2. james permalink
    September 28, 2011 17:20

    This is Cary Grant, not Gregory Peck

Leave a Reply

