Skip to content

Odds and Ends

November 5, 2009

Worked a little more on the floating goldfish. Fixed some of the perspective issues, but I think I’ll pull the camera back a bit and move the fish over. Also need to correct some errors in the architectural style.

goldfish-stairs01wip01

Jon Snow, from George R.R. Martin’s amazing series, A Song of Ice and Fire. And yes, I know Jon doesn’t have red eyes.

jonsnow

Jon Snow

Some dog skeletons.

canine-anatomy1

woof

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 14:21

    The goldfish is coming along nicely. It’s nice to read your thoughts about how to make adjustments to your work. I’m a sucker for eavesdropping on an artist’s brain.

    Thomas

  2. November 5, 2009 15:18

    Hey Chelsea– Why the change in the architecture of the stairs? I really liked the way the line of the edge of the stairs, the “center line” of the fish, and the hole all led your eye through the composition in a steady arc. It’s not that I dislike the new image, but having seen the other, I’m curious why you changed it. The stairs now really feel like they are leading you to the fish’s shadow, which is far less impactful, IMHO.

    Here’s a quick paintover to show you what I’m talking about.

    http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/ZXzRC3JDalapoxevfd_opw?feat=directlink

    • November 5, 2009 16:14

      I had a couple suggestions from people – they said the stairs were leading the eye away. I’m still not sure which I like better, either, so I have left it up to the Twitter masses, LOL. Thanks so much man. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

