Skip to content

Fast Enviro

October 28, 2009

I have to thank John for letting me paint his beautiful photo Angry Skies. I spent about an hour on this, and was trying to get the colors right, as well as get the hang of the impasto brushes in Painter. Suggestions on how to properly use oil-type paint would be much appreciated!

When I saved this as a jpg the colors got a bit darker and more saturated, particularly the reds. Poo. šŸ˜›

kkart

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2009 22:38

    The atmos is really beautiful. I particularly like the sky! I’d say the only think that lets it down is the cornfield, perhaps too blurred towards the camera. Otherwise lovely work!

    • October 29, 2009 13:28

      Good point. Maybe if I use the scratchboard rake I could get more defined grass… Thanks! šŸ™‚

  2. October 28, 2009 23:38

    Hey… I dig. I think the main issue here is your blending.. it’s a little blurry and muddy in places. It seems to me that most oil paintings, whether they be traditional or “Painter Oil Brush”, gravitate to either 1) LESS blended, more impressionistic look where each stroke sits beside the next one but there is minimal blending, or 2) MORE blended to give things a more rendered look.

    Right now all your planes and details are running into each other and make the picture a little hard to make sense of.

    Hope that helps!

    • October 29, 2009 13:30

      Ah, you’re right! That’s a big problem i have – I never can seem to make myself loosen up and just leave stuff unblended. But then I don’t want to go in an meticulously blend everything, so I wind up with something like this.

      Thanks man. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

